30 Days of Scent 2.0, Day 15: Carven Le Parfum

carven

I received a sample of Carven Le Parfum several months ago from a perfume rep at Neiman Marcus at South Park, because she wanted my opinion on it. Honestly, I don’t understand the body of Francis Kurkdjian’s work as a perfumer. On one end of the spectrum, he created his own line, with APOM Pour Femme being so beautiful it takes my breath away, and the Elie Saab scents I love. On the other end, there’s Jean Paul Gaultier Le Male…and this.

Carven is a house that’s been around for decades. Their premiere fragrance, Ma Griffe, was launched in 1946. This is a perfume house with a long and solid history, and they don’t have to remake anyone else’s work to do well. However, with Le Parfum, that’s exactly what it feels like they’ve done. It’s a generic patchouli white floral that smells like they were trying to remake Coco Mademoiselle (which I also dislike) and missed.

I wore this Sunday, and asked several male friends their opinions, as I was trying to find something useful to say about it. The more positive of the two reviews was, “Meh, I don’t really smell it much.” Luckily, it’s not a fragrance with beast-mode projection or longevity, so I wasn’t stuck with it all day.  Skip this one; it’s a waste of time and money.

The technical stuff:

Release date: 2013

Availability: higher-end department stores

Perfumer: Francis Kurkdjian

Overall rating: 3/10

Leave a Reply

