30 Days of Scent 2.0, Day 5: Burberry Brit for Men, revisited (electric boogaloo optional!)

brit

It’s pretty much a moral imperative that I start this post with a shoutout to my friend D., who, upon seeing the title of the first post of 30 Days 2.0, commented, “I’m impressed with how many titles that has. I predict an Electric Boogaloo by day 5.” Hence today’s title, and the main reason today’s scent is one I’ve briefly reviewed previously.

Burberry Brit for Men is one of the few male-marketed fragrances in the Western market that centers around a rose note. Interestingly, in Middle Eastern traditions, rose scents are considered to be masculine because of the rose, where Western fragrances, if they include it, are marketed as masculine in spite of containing rose. (A good example of a Middle Eastern-style rose fragrance put out by a European company would be Guerlain’s Rose Nacree du Desert, part of their exclusive Les Deserts d’Orient line.) That said, while it smells fantastic on a man, you all know that I don’t subscribe to the idea that fragrances have gender. Say it with me, Stylies: Wear what you love! I have no shame wearing men’s fragrances myself, but I do think this one should actually have been marketed as unisex.

This opens up with a good dose of ginger, along with a slightly less bold cardamom and some faint hints of citrus notes (mandarin and bergamot, per the description, but they’re light enough that I can’t identify them by scent, just that there’s some citrus there). As the top notes fade off, the rose kicks in, but so do the nutmeg and other spices, with a bit of cedar to keep it interesting. The official listing doesn’t say anything about it, but I feel like I almost pick up something a little bit powdery at this stage, but that’s something I get pretty often when a scent combines rose with warm spices. The base is tonka bean, more cedar, a bit of musk, some unnamed “exotic” wood note, and a very faint trace of patchouli.

Brit for Men isn’t one with monster projection, but in terms of longevity, it’s an absolute beast. I applied it 9 hours ago, and while it’s been a skin scent for the past 3, I can still detect it if I sniff for it. It has a very polite sillage, where with two sprays it can’t be smelled outside one’s own personal space, which is how I like it. It’s obvious that it’s by a British company, because it does beautifully in cool, damp weather. I can picture this being the scent of choice for Benedict Cumberbatch in his portrayal of a modern Sherlock Holmes. You know I’m a tough reviewer, and I don’t give 10s, but really, the only place I can see that Burberry missed the mark with this one is by marketing it as men’s rather than unisex.

It’s also worth noting that because of the mass availability of Burberry fragrances, there’s no need to ever pay department store¬†markup for this one. Retailers such as Perfumania carry it regularly, and the outlet stores like TJMaxx and Marshall’s get this in all the time. Even barring that, there’s all kinds of discounting online for it, so there’s no need to pay full price.

The technical stuff:

Released: 2004

Availability: Practically everywhere

Perfumer: Antoine Maisondieu

Overall rating: 9.5/10–love it!

Leave a Reply

