30 Days of Scent 2.0, day 3: Narciso Rodriguez for Her EDT

narciso rodriguez

Today I’m wearing Narciso Rodriguez  for Her in the original eau de toilette concentration. Cuban-American designer Rodriguez released it in partnership with Shiseido in 2003, following it with For Him in 2007 and various flankers later on. It’s widely available and is part of the current Sephora Favorites sampler in the dark pink box.

Supposedly the notes break down as follows: top notes of osmanthus, orange blossom, and bergamot; heart of musk and amber; base of vetiver and vanilla. I’m not getting that at all. The musk in it is so loud that it overpowers everything else, and I get only the barest hint of floral notes. The amber, vetiver, and vanilla are completely lost on me. If that were what I was looking for, I’d be a lot more inclined to go with Yves Rocher Comme Une Evidence for half the price. It’s very linear, with the musk dominating the whole scent from beginning to end. I don’t get any development out of it at all. It’s just OH HEY LOTS OF MUSK…and a little bit of floral something. It reminds me of an Avon roll-on deodorant I had once, more than a designer perfume. I’m really disappointed, especially seeing that Francis Kurkdjian was one of the perfumers who worked on it, because his private line is amazing (APOM Pour Femme? OMG BEAUTIFUL).

Unfortunately, its performance more than makes up for the quality of the scent. Six hours in, it’s still going strong on me, and I feel like I’m walking around in a cloud of it. It’s not one I hate, but there are plenty of other musk-dominant florals that are equally well-constructed for significantly less money, so I’m going to pass on this one.

As an interesting side note, a friend of mine informs me that musk-based perfumes are used quite frequently for habitat enrichment for big cats. My cats don’t know they’re not big, apparently, because both of them were GLUED to me while I was wearing this, with the bolder of the two repeatedly trying to lick my wrists. So approach with caution if you live with cats, unless you’re THAT flavor of crazy cat lady.

The technical stuff:

Released: 2003

Availability: Widespread, department store and perfume retail

Perfumers: Francis Kurkdjian, Christine Nagel

Overall rating: 4/10

Leave a Reply

