30 Days of Scent, Day 21: Calvin Klein Euphoria Eau de Toilette

Here’s yet another that’s very different in the EDT vs the EDP. Calvin Klein Euphoria EDT has been discontinued, as best I can tell, and the only way to find it in stores is to catch it at TJMaxx or Marshall’s, where it’s pretty much always available.

This one opens up with bergamot, peach, and green notes, though all I get out of that is a slight burst of sparkling, syrupy peach, before it goes straight into the mostly-orchid heart with some lotus, a little bit of champaca, and supposedly some honeysuckle that I’ve never picked up in it. The drydown is “OH, HEY, LOOK, THERE’S SANDALWOOD! oh, and some amber.” And they say there’s a Bailey’s accord in there somewhere, but it doesn’t stand out on me.

The biggest difference between this and the EDP is that the opening in the EDP is a rich pomegranate note that I kind of miss here. So far, though, there hasn’t been a version of Euphoria that I’ve disliked, including its various flankers. (Even though I was kind of disappointed in Endless Euphoria, because it smells more like Down Town than like a flanker of Euphoria.) The longevity here is actually a good bit longer than I’d typically expect from an EDT, at about 6 hours, and the projection is pretty steady, rather than the really loud opening of Euphoria Blossom, which is otherwise a gorgeous scent, and I wish I had a bottle of it again. I’m going to come out and say, I’m a fan of the Euphoria line, which may sway my objectivity here. I’d give it a solid 7.5/10.

Leave a Reply

