Thirty Days of Scent, Day 18: Dolce and Gabbana Pour Femme

First, let me apologize for this going up late; I’ve started a new day job, so I’m a bit behind. I’m off tomorrow, so I’m going to try to type up the late posts tomorrow afternoon.

Let me start off by saying that I don’t mind a vanilla fragrance, or a gourmand.  Nor do I have a problem with scents that remind me of pink fluff, like Dolce and Gabbana’s Rose The One. I’d even go so far as to say that I’m fond of the brand, having worn the entire The One series for women and enjoying the limited edition flankers of Light Blue as I do. However, I’m not the biggest fan of their Pour Femme ($27-86, Sephora).

Dolce and Gabbana first got into the women’s fragrance game in 1992 with the original Dolce and Gabbana for Women, a spicy, aldehyde-rich floral that was very much a product of its time. If the 2012 scent by the same name is one people smell 20 years from now and think, “typical 2010s fragrance,” I’m going to be really sad. The 1992 bottle is similar to the current one, but that’s about where the similarities end.

Supposedly, this one is made up of top notes of raspberry, mandarin, and neroli, heart notes of orange blossom and jasmine, and a base of marshmallow, vanilla, sandalwood, and heliotrope. On me, the top notes are almost straight raspberry, plus a touch of the white floral sweetness of neroli, but as soon as that dies down, BOOM. MARSHMALLOW. It’s as if it skips the heart altogether. Instead of getting a phase that’s lovely white floral, the raspberry and the marshmallow bleed together on me, and it reminds me a bit of bubble gum. If I were half my age, I’d be OK with it, but I should probably note that if I were half my age I would not be old enough to wear designer perfume, much less have the money to buy it.

The sillage on this is average, and the longevity is poor on me (3-4 hours is rather pitiful for an EDP). I’ve got a swap lined up for it, and honestly, I’m looking forward to trading up. I’d give it a 4/10.

Leave a Reply

