30 Days of Scent, Day Eleven: Diesel Loverdose

Image

Today I’m wearing Loverdose by Diesel ($35-58, Fragrancenet.com). I have a sample of this, and if it’s been discontinued for the regular retail market, it must be recently, because I could have sworn I saw it in Sephora last time I was there, and that was *maybe* a month ago. But I went looking for a link today, and the only places that still carry it are the online discounters and Diesel’s own website.

Loverdose opens up with a touch of mandarin and a strong star anise note, with a hint of soft spice. The heart is mostly licorice, with some jasmine and gardenia. At the base, it’s a mix of licorice liqueur, vanilla, ambroxan (synthetic stand-in for ambergris, though a lot of outlets swore it was amber–not the same thing!), and wood.

For me, this scent is all about the licorice, and it’s a good thing, because that’s a note I really like. It’s the same reason I’m so fond of most of Lolita Lempicka’s scents. I will say, though, that the use of mandarin in the opening rather than the cherry in Lolita Lempicka Le Premier Parfum really changes the direction that the scent goes. It’s lighter, and the white floral heart rather than the violet and iris of LPP makes it more of a tease than a soft snuggle. For all its food-like notes, I wouldn’t necessarily classify Loverdose in the category of “smells like something good to eat,” but it definitely has an addictive edge.

Performance-wise, it’s fairly average. Three sprays for arm’s length projection, lasting about 5-6 hours. The thing about it being discontinued is that it’s easy to come by fairly inexpensively these days. If you’re a fan of a licorice note, it’s definitely worth checking out. I’d rate it a solid 8/10.

Leave a Reply

