30 Days of Scent, Day Ten: Bvlgari Mon Jasmin Noir

Image

Today I’m wearing Mon Jasmin Noir by Bvlgari ($48-107, Bvlgari), released in 2011 as a lighter, softer follow-up to their popular Jasmin Noir from 2008. I couldn’t wear Jasmin Noir to save my life–too big a gardenia opening, too dirty a jasmine note, and too heavy a base–but Mon Jasmin Noir is very sexy on me.

The scent lists an opening of lily and the valley and citron, and I get maybe a trace of that, but for me this one is all about that strong, slightly dirty jasmine note. When a jasmine goes a little bit dirty like that, it’s the presence of a molecule called indole, that you don’t smell on the fresh flower but is concentrated during the distillation process. That’s part of why it’s so common to cut natural jasmine with a synthetic or with citrus, because a white flower (jasmine, gardenia, tuberose, etc.) that’s too indolic will have almost a fecal quality to it, and nobody really wants to smell like that. But with Mon Jasmin Noir there’s a very good balance. The base is made up of nougat and musk with a little bit of cedar and patchouli.

If I could change one thing about this scent, it would be the longevity. It’s definitely one that, in warm weather, I have to spray on my clothes rather than on my skin. It does great on skin in the winter, when it’s too cold to evaporate off as quickly, but when it’s warm I get 3-4 hours out of it at most. For the current season I’d rate it 6/10, but 8/10 overall.

Leave a Reply

