30 Days of Scent, day 3: Prada Infusion d’Iris

s1131648-main-hero

Today I’m wearing my sample of Prada Infusion d’Iris eau de parfum ($63.99, Perfumania). This is a very green, powdery iris, almost talc-y. Many Prada scents turn soapy anyway, but this one definitely leans that direction from the beginning.

Infusion d’Iris has a very citrusy floral opening, with African orange flower, neroli (the blossom of the Seville orange), orange, and mandarin. I get the blooms, but the fruits really don’t show up on me. Rather, the sweetness of the two different orange blossoms gives a sweet floral beginning with just a hint of acidity. The heart is made up of iris and galbanum (the same combination that gives Chanel No. 19 its well-known cold, powdery green character), and it says it’s got some piney-smelling mastic resin in it, but it doesn’t come out on me at all. The base takes its smokiness from notes of incense and vetiver, with cedar to keep it fresh and woody while the balmy, somewhat vanillic scent of benzoin gives a hint of warmness in contrast to its heart.

If I had to pick one word to describe this one, it would be powdery. It smells a lot like old-fashioned makeup or like baby powder. It’s very clean, but it doesn’t have the bite of Chanel No. 19, which has many of the same components, or the lasting power of No. 19 Poudre, which is softened and flattened in the same way as Infusion d’Iris. I’m not a person who likes my fragrances to be projection bombs, but on me, this one may even be too much of a skin scent. The longevity isn’t great either; I put it on at 10AM today, and by 2PM it was completely gone. I don’t know how they managed to make an eau de toilette of this, if the eau de parfum doesn’t last any longer than that. I don’t think I’m going to buy a full bottle of this, because it’s just kind of mediocre. I’d rate it 5/10.

Leave a Reply

